Classroom Makeover

I began teaching US History at a wonderful private school last spring that I absolutely love. Before leaving for the summer, our principal told the faculty that he would love to see us be creative when decorating our classrooms and that we should feel free to create our dream teaching environment. Well, I was so excited to have my own classroom this year and be in a school that valued creativity and creating an amazing learning environment for kids that I really took his suggestion to heart.

Plus, never give a DIY-addict free reign if you don’t mean it!

After LOTS of planning, agonizing over paint colors, many trips to antique malls near and far, more agonizing over paint colors, Ikea trip, many many Home Depot trips, and countless afternoons spent painting (thank you to my wonderful husband who helped me paint!), my classroom makeover if finally complete!

classroom makeover 101

Class-14

Very proud of my map wall. The maps were an assortment from Paper Source and vintage and I put them up using flat metal tacks.

Class-17

On the floating shelf from Ikea, I sourced from different antiques malls a vintage letter ‘A’, vintage scale, milk glass vase, vintage globe, and a framed copy of a Revolutionary War enlistment poster.

Class-13

Class-19

Class-22

Class-27

Class-26

This black accent wall is chalkboard paint!

Class-23

Class-18

Class-32

Class-34

I am SO EXCITED about the results and cannot wait for school to start so I can spend time with the kids in this amazing space. I truly think every teacher should have a room they love so much that they look forward to working in it each day.

~The Girl

6 thoughts on “Classroom Makeover

    • That’s wonderful!! There are some amazing ideas on Pinterest of how to use old rulers & yardsticks to create some useful items- lampshades, desk organizers, picture frames, etc. Add in some bold geometric patterns thru fabric or using painters tape on the wall and I bet you will have a great space! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

