The Girl who got Married!

Yep, I’m a married woman now! Whoo-hoo!

So I thought I would get back to blogging by sharing some of the awesome DIY projects I completed for my wedding. In keeping with my Anglophiliac roots, we had a English Tea themed wedding, complete with garden ceremony followed by a high-tea reception and lawn games.

wedding day couple

bride on stairs

DIY: Lawn Games

We bought unfinished wood Cornhole boards and I painted them the wedding colors with the phrase ‘Keep Calm and Say I Do’. Then I created stencils using poster board with graph lines to create the designs. We also had ring toss and giant Jenga.

Step 1: Make Stencil

Step 2: Use painters tape and tape stencil to Cornhole board, paint using a roller (NOT a brush!) to get an even coat. Once the paint is dry, remove the stencil. You WILL have to go back and touch up around your letters with a small brush when you peel up the stencil.

Step 3: Enjoy!

     

DIY: Photobooth Props

And of course, we incorporated a full size TARDIS into our big day! I rented this beautiful specimen of time and space travel from a fellow Whovian and used it as the backdrop for our Photobooth! For the chalkboards, I just bought some pre-cut wood boards in different shapes from Michael’s craft store and used chalkboard paint. For the other props, I used dowel rods and cut out mustaches and lips from bright colored sheets of foam, also from Michael’s. For those of you who may be drawing challenged, you can find lots of templates online. 

    tardis bride

    Tardis Booth 34

DIY: Bunting

I made bunting- a traditional English party decoration- to go around many of the tables, as well as down the staircase in the garden. I sourced the vintage-inspired fabrics from several fabric stores and used this tutorial from Intimate Weddings, which explains how to make the bunting. It was so cute and the use of the bias tape made it quick and easy to assemble and sew.

DIY: Guestbook Table

For a unique guestbook table, I asked all the married couples attending the wedding to send me a copy of their wedding photo. This was not too difficult since I had a very small wedding. I scanned all the photos and printed them out in black and white.  I used a curtain rod and hung ribbons in our wedding colors. Then I attached black and white photos to the ribbon using double sided tape. I was really happy with the end result, it made a great display above the table and our guests really enjoyed looking at everyone’s wedding photo.

So now that I’m done planning a wedding, summer projects are taking over. Plus, DragonCon is fast approaching, which means costumes! More to come soon!

~The Girl

In this Post:

Photography: Morning Light by Michelle Landreau

Dress: Alfred Angelo

Venue: The Whitlock Inn, Marietta, GA

Leave a Reply

