It’s October!

My favorite month is finally here! Finally some nice chilly Fall weather, plus warm soups, scarves, leather boots, chilli festivals, and my favorite…..No, not the opportunity make my own costume again silly.

Oh no wait, you’re right!

Because it’s almost HALLOWEEN! By far my favorite holiday. So in honor of the approaching All Hallows Eve, I thought I would share with you my costumes from last year.

First, the kid friendly one! Everyone’s favorite teacher…Mrs. Frizzle from The Magic School Bus!

                 

For Mrs Frizzle Costume:

  • Purple Dress (found mine at Ross)
  • White collar shirt
  • Felt fabric sheets in primary colors (use to cut out all kinds planets- these were mainly circles of diff sizes layered on top of each other, stars, and letters)
  • Fabric glue (used to glue felt pieces together and to dress)
  • Lizard beanie baby (found mine at a children’s book store)

Then for Adult Only night, I went as a Dia de los Muertos Girl, the skeleton faced character from the Spanish Halloween celebration.

The make-up seemed intimidating but it actually turned out to be very easy to do!

     

A few you tube videos later, plus one black leotard (American Apparel), a black tulle crinoline (vintage store),and a red flower in my hair, and I was done!

Dia de los Muertos costume!

                     

I used these  Dia de los Muertos make-up how to videos:

How To Hide Eyebrows with Glue Stick

Dia de los Muertos Make-Up Tutorial

Dia de los Muertos Hair & Make-up How To

In a few days I’ll be sharing my costume for this year and my progress on creating it!For more costume idea, take a look at my Geekery/Cosplay board on Pinterest.

So what will you be going as for Halloween??

~The Girl

3 thoughts on “It’s October!

    • Liz, that’s so flattering but I’m afraid it is not for sale. I generally keep all my costumes because I wear them again. This one was really very easy and fast to make. I mention in the post how I made mine. If you really love it I encourage you to try it out! Thanks for the inquiry!

Leave a Reply

