DIY Friday: The BIG Clutch

So I decided to do a DIY Friday post each week. I figured a Friday post would be best because I hate when I get inspired in the middle of the week but have no time and then by the weekend I forget all about it!

I see a lot of fun DIY on the internet. Many of these have really cute ideas but the details and process are not super informative. So I’ll hopefully be sorting through the bad to bring you only the best DIY I can find. And eventually, I will hopefully create some of my own. But let’s take this one step at a time, shall we?

So today is DIY: The BIG Clutch!

I have been craving one of these giant clutches all summer. They seem so useful and cute! After some scouring the internet, I found a great tutorial that is also REALLY easy!! The tutorial is from Style Scrapbook, and can be found here.

Materials Needed:

  • Fabric of your choice- she uses leather and I probably will too. But a stiff fabric is going to work best.
  • Zipper- have some fun and use a contrasting color or do the matchy-matchy thing, up to you.
  • Basic sewing supplies (machine, thread, scissors, etc)

I suggest adding stiff interfacing or some kind of liner to the inside of the bag. This should help the bag hold its shape and will make it a bit nicer on the inside. Here is another very similar tutorial from Say Yes to Hoboken that shows how to add the interfacing. She actually makes a fold-over clutch, which is basically the exact same but just a taller rectangle shape to give the extra at the top to fold-over.

I will post photos of my finished bag when done.

Have fun!

~The Girl

One thought on “DIY Friday: The BIG Clutch

Leave a Reply

