Getting Started with a Costume

So, for my first post I thought I would share my current project. I am working on a TARDIS Dress fro Dragon*Con, the Atlanta SciFi/Fantasy, Anime, Comic….Geekery Galore Convention. This will be my third year at the convention and my first year creating a Dr. Who costume.

I debated what to make, a Dalek, Doctor Costume, possibly go as Amy Pond. But in the end I decided that a TARDIS would be both instantly recognizable and held the most inspiration for me. After scouring the internet for examples and inspirational pictures on which to base my design, I found this picture and the dress in the middle was perfect for me.

So this also happens to be my first time sewing a dress without a pattern. I am lucky enough to have a mannequin that is pretty much exactly my measurements. This is not a actual sewing dress form, but a mannequin I snagged from a high-end retail store where I used to work. They were going to throw it out (can you imagine!).

The Process

So I used a basic circle skirt for the bottom. I read and followed this great Circle Skirt How To from MADE. I found it necessary to alter the process slightly as my fabric was not wide enough to cut out the entire circle at once. Then I started  designing and cutting out the bodice for the dress, using a well fitting dress I already own as a sort of base for my pattern.

Of course, you are bound to run into problems. I actually found that my skirt ended up being WAY too big. Not really sure how that happened, but I just took out one of the four panels and ended up with a three panel circle skirt that fit.

Looking forward to sharing the finished product with you!

~The Girl

3 thoughts on “Getting Started with a Costume

    • Honestly, I have only ever made a few items of clothing without a pattern- all of them costumes. So it wasn’t really necessary to be super precise or anything. On this one, I did use paper to draft a pattern, using the green/blue dress I’m wearing in the video as a base. Then I took it from there by cutting it out in muslin first and draping it on the mannequin. Most of the action happened through draping and pinning. Once I got the muslin right, I used it as a guide to cut my actual fabric. Hope that answers your question! I have been sewing since I was young but I’m still a novice at explaining my process to others. Thanks so much for following!!

Leave a Reply

